About us

Diversity Science was founded by Dr. van Ryn, former Professor at Mayo Medical School and OHSU and Director of the Research Program on Equity and Inclusion in Healthcare at the Mayo Clinic. We founded Diversity Science to accelerate DEI progress through evidence-based and effective approaches.

Our training programs are rooted in scientific evidence from the mind sciences and adapted to real-world settings. We continuously evaluate our programs to ensure they are cutting-edge and effective.
  • Evidence-based
    Our work is fully responsive to scientific evidence, best practices, and rigorous methods
  • Client-Centered
    Our clients can count on absolute confidentiality, integrity, and respect
  • Strengths-Focused
    We build on strengths and increase resilience
  • Results-Driven
    We provide actionable recommendations that drive results

Meet our team

Michelle van Ryn, PhD, MPH

Founder, CEO, and Distinguished Scientist

John (Jack) Dovidio, PhD

and Distinguished Scientist

Benjamin Reese, PsyD

Subject Matter Expert
Advisor, and Trainer

Julia Przedworski, PhD

Lead Scientist
and LGBTQ+ Specialist

Sean Phelan, PhD, MPH

Scientific Advisor & Speaker

Sylvia Perry, PhD

Scientific Advisor & Speaker

Rebekah Pratt, PhD


Nick vanRyn-Gregg


Kerry Proctor

Chief of Staff
and Client Relations

Deborah Finstad

Director of Data Insights OPS
and Sr. Survey Specialist

Naomi Isenberg, PhD

Associate Scientist and Quality & Integrity Team Lead

Danielle Baker

Client Solutions

Jana Sosnowski


Leaf VanRyn

Content Development
and Admin Support

Thank you, Subject Matter Experts!

We partner with many Subject Matter Experts who contribute their expertise and experiences to the development of our live, blended, and eLearning training programs.

Serena Brown
Global Employee Experience Programs Manager at VML­

Joia Crear-Perry, MD, FACOG
Founder and President of the National Birth Equity Collaborative

Lotte Dyrbye, MD, MHPE, FACP
Senior Associate Dean of Faculty and Chief Well-Being Officer for the University of Colorado School of Medicine

Sharonne Hayes, MD
Cardiologist and Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine in the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine, and Vice Chair of Academic Affairs and Faculty Development for the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine at Mayo Clinic

Nathaniel Miller, MD
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine at Mayo Clinic

Tyson Pankey, PhD
Assistant Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences in the Child and Family Mental Health and Community Psychiatry Division of Duke University School of Medicine; Associate Program Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Education at Duke University

Sean M. Phelan, PhD, MPH
Professor of Health Services Research and Section Head of Social and Behavioral Sciences of the Division of Health Care Delivery Research in the Kern Center for the Sciences of Health Care Delivery at Mayo Clinic

Benjamin Reese, Jr. PsyD
Clinical Psychologist and Adjunct Professor in the Departments of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Community Medicine and Family Health, and Psychology and Neuroscience at Duke University

Anne Waniger, MD
Psychiatry Specialist in Rochester, MN; Chief Resident Physician in Psychiatry at Mayo Clinic

Sara E. Burke, PhD
Associate Professor in Social Psychology at Syracuse University

Brooke Cunningham, MD
Commissioner of Health, Minnesota Department of Health; General Internist, Sociologist, and Assistant Professor in the University of Minnesota Department of Family Medicine and Community Health

Justin Gomez, MS
Career Counselor, Cultural Intelligence Certified Facilitator

Naomi Isenberg, PhD
Associate Scientist and Quality and Integrity Team Lead of Asynchronous Learning Programs at Diversity Science

Adrienne Mishkin, MD, MPH, MBE, FAPA
Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry and Psychiatric Consultant to the Bone Marrow Transplantation Service at Columbia University Medical Center

Cindy Perry, PhD, FNP-BC, FAHA
Elizabeth N. Gray Distinguished Professor at Oregon Health and Science University School of Nursing

Rebecca Polston, CPM, LM
Midwife, Owner and Founder of Roots Community Birth Center

Karen Scott, MD, MPH, FACOG
Chief Black Feminist Physician Scientist, Founding CEO, and Owner of Birthing Cultural Rigor, LLC

Richard White, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics in the Department of Internal Medicine at Mayo Clinic

Barbara Whitmore, RN
Nursing Administrator at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

Mark Yeazel, MD, MPH
Professor and Vice Chair for Faculty Affairs in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Esther Choo, MD
Professor of Emergency Medicine, School of Medicine, Oregon Health and Science University

John (Jack) Dovidio, PhD
Distinguished Scientist and VP for Scientific Strategy at Diversity Science; Carl I. Hovland Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Professor Emeritus in the Institute for Social and Policy Studies and of Epidemiology

Rachel R. Hardeman, PhD, MPH
Founding Director of the Center for Antiracism Research for Health Equity and the Blue Cross Endowed Professor of Health and Racial Equity in the University of Minnesota School of Public Health

Salinas Manisha, DrPH
Associate Consultant and Associate Professor at the Mayo Clinic

Rebecca O’Connor, PhD, RN

Betty Irene Moore Nurse Leaders and Innovators Fellow, and Affiliate Member of the Center for Pediatric Nursing Research at Seattle Children’s Hospital; Associate Professor in the University of Washington School of Nursing Department of Child, Family, and Population Health Nursing

Sylvia Perry, PhD
Associate Professor of Psychology, Affiliate of the Department of Medical Social Sciences at the Feinberg School of Medicine, and Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University

Julia Przedworski, PhD
Lead Scientist and LGBTQ+ Specialist at Diversity Science

Michelle van Ryn, PhD, MPH
Distinguished Scientist, Founder and CEO of Diversity Science; Distinguished Endowed Professor at the Oregon Health and Science University School of Nursing; Former Professor at Mayo Clinic and Director of the Mayo Clinic Research Program on Equity and Inclusion in Healthcare

Learn on-demand using our
award-winning courses

Enjoy 24/7 access to high-quality eLearning
developed by the experts.